Officials announce airfield operations awards

WASHINGTON (APFN) -- Air Force officials announced the winners of the 2006 Air Force Airfield Operation Awards June 13.
   Airfield operations include airfield operations and control, specifically airfield management and air traffic control.
   The 2006 winners are as follows:
   Airfield operations flight complex of the year: 86th Operations Support Squadron, Ramstein Air Base, Germany.
   Air traffic control awards:
-- D. Ray Hardin Air Traffic Control Facility of the Year: Tinker Control Tower, 72nd OSS, Tinker Air Force Base.
-- Col. Derrel L. Dempsey Officer of the Year: Capt. Derek C. Molloy, 1st OSS , Hurlburt AFB, Fla.
-- Air Traffic Controller of the Year: Airman 1st Class Sarah B. O'Brien, 3rd OSS, Elmendorf AFB, Alaska.
-- Air Traffic Controller of the Year (civilian): Jesus Machuca, 75th OSS, Nellis AFB, Nev.
-- Air Traffic Control Enlisted Manager of the Year: Master Sgt. Scott E. Thomsen, 49th OSS, Holloman AFB, N.M.
-- Air Traffic Control Watch Supervisor of the Year: Staff Sgt. Jesus Reyes, 366th OSS, Mountain Home AFB, Idaho.
-- Air Traffic Controller in Charge (civilian): Robert M. Fort, 20th OSS, Shaw AFB, S.C.
-- Air Traffic Control Training Achievement: Master Sgt, Julie M. Nicholas, 39th OSS, Incirlik AB, Turkey.
   Airfield Management Awards:
-- Airfield Management Facility of the Year: 325th OSS, Tyndall AFB, Fla.
-- Airfield Management Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Eric Johnson, 3rd OSS.
-- Airfield Management NCO of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Contina A. Harmon, 20th OSS.
-- Airfield Management Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Amy M. Stacey, 355th OSS, Davis Monthan AFB, Ariz.
-- Airfield Management Civilian Journeyman/ Technician of the Year: Su Ae Yi, 51st OSS, Osan AB, South Korea.
-- Airfield Management Civilian Supervisor of the Year: Mr. Thomas R. Gray, 375th OSS, Scott AFB, Ill.
-- Airfield Management Training Achievement: David L. Goreczny, 62nd OSS, McChord AFB, Wash.
   Terminal Instrument Procedures Specialist of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Michael J. Roxberry, Jr., 354th OSS, Eielson AFB, Alaska.