Team Tinker members bring home honors at AFA annual awards

  • Published
  • By Paul Shirk
  • 72nd Air Base Wing Public Affairs

A number of Tinker Air Force Base personnel won honors at the Air & Space Forces Association Central Oklahoma Gerrity 215 Chapter’s annual awards held in Del City, Oklahoma, April 10, 2024.

Tinker Airmen or units won in the following categories:

Airman:  Senior Airman Carmen Mitchum, 752nd Operations Support Squadron

Non-Commissioned Officer:  Staff Sgt. Karla Casanova, 507th Air Refueling Wing

Senior NCO:  Master Sgt. Efrain Garcia, 552nd Operations Support Squadron

Company Grade Officer:  Capt. Kendall Hadley, 965th Airborne Air Control Squadron

Civilian Category I:  GS-7 Jamie Jefferson, 72nd Security Forces Squadron

Civilian Category II:  GS-12 Nicholas Collins, 552nd Operations Support Squadron

Squadron of the Year:  72nd Security Forces Squadron

At the end of the ceremony, several of the winners were announced to have also won at the state level, including Mitchum, Garcia, Collins and the 72nd SFS.

The Central Oklahoma Gerrity Chapter focuses on STEM Education and advocating at the national, state, and local level. The Gerrity Chapter also works to support Airmen and their families through various projects such as back-to-school projects, family days and volunteering.