Young Airmen learn to lead

  • Published
  • By John Stuart
  • Tinker Public Affairs
For the Airman Leadership School's instructors, class 10-G proved to be a problem.

There were simply too many outstanding Airmen to be properly recognized, said Master Sgt. Jim Peters the ALS superintendent.

"The award winners were truly some of the best. Some who weren't recognized should have been," Sergeant Peters said.

Command Chief Marion Driggers, of the 960th Airborne Air Control Squadron, addressed the Airmen at their Aug. 26 graduation, the culmination of the 24-day course. The chief emphasized viking laws -- particularly being courageous and keeping a good house, especially while navigating numerous deployments.

Thirty-eight of the 40 graduates have already deployed in their careers. The ALS instructors used this as an example of the high-tempo reality of the Air Force. The instructors encouraged the Airmen to use their experience to set their subordinates up for success when they deploy.

True to ALS tradition, the Class 10-G Airmen organized a group service project. They framed an entire Habitat for Humanity house in one day, putting in a cumulative 160 hours on the project.

"(The ALS is) their first professional military education," Sergeant Peters said. "They're taking a huge step into being leaders and really taking a role in caring and feeding our Airmen who have been in the service one to six years."

Graduates are:

960th Airborne Air Control Squadron
Senior Airman Rory Sullivan

964th Airborne Air Control Squadron
Senior Airman Brandon Meeks
Staff Sgt. Brenton Meyers
Staff Sgt. Keith Salazar
Staff Sgt. Lauren Walker

965th Airborne Air Control Squadron
Staff Sgt. Efrem Allen
Staff Sgt. Lee Bennett
Staff Sgt. Robert Brooker
Staff Sgt. Benjamin Hynes
Staff Sgt. Ross Jenkins
Staff Sgt. Randall Kenepp
Staff Sgt. David Singleton
Staff Sgt. Delbert Tenner

31st Combat Communications Squadron
Senior Airman Andrew Barreras
Senior Airman Corinne Chua
Staff Sgt. Gabriel Lopez
Staff Sgt. Benjamin Murphy
Staff Sgt. Jeremy Whitecotton

32nd Combat Communications Squadron
Senior Airman Benjamin Black
Senior Airman William Yanney

34th Combat Communications Squadron
Staff Sgt. Kevin Farkas

552nd Maintenance Squadron
Senior Airman Craig Crook
Senior Airman Jonathan DeCamp
Senior Airman Bradley Huddleston
Senior Airman Justin Ingersoll
Staff Sgt. Jessica Layton
Senior Airman Brandi Smith
Staff Sgt. Trevor White
Staff Sgt. Jeffrey Witte

552nd Air Control Networks Squadron
Senior Airman Lacey Echeverry
Senior Airman Travis McManus

552nd Training Squadron
Senior Airman Joshua Holzmann
Senior Airman Daniel Stebner

552nd Air Control Group
Senior Airman Cynthia Holly

72nd Security Forces Squadron
Senior Airman Jayson Hodges
Senior Airman George McCain
Senior Airman Brandon Sauls

72nd Aerospace Medicine Squadron
Senior Airman Sanjuanita Cazares

72nd Medical Support Squadron
Senior Airman Daniel Santisas

72nd Operations Support Squadron
Staff Sgt. Zachary Bonnette